Restoration Avenue

Simple Restorations of the Home and Heart

Activating PALLET POWER!

So my newest creative interest involves a real ‘trash to treasure’ material: Pallets! These things are SUPER COOL! I’ve been reading and watching youtube videos on how these miscellaneous pieces of wood can be repurposed into fantastic pieces of furniture. So of course I thought, “I can do that!” I always say this…even if I have no clue what I’m doing! LOL! Ask my hubby. Let me tell it, I could build our next dream home out of pallets. 🙂

It doesn’t hurt that I’m an editor at a publishing house where there are hundreds of pallets in the warehouse. Free materials?! Uhh YEAH! Anyhoo…my first project is a small bench for our front porch. While we have a nice size porch and some cool rattan chairs on it, if more than two people want to hang out with us…well, we’d be in trouble. A bench will serve as great secondary seating (or another piece my 20-month old can climb up on to launch herself into the sky-lol).

So here’s the pallet I’m starting with…

ImageIn order to get the bench down to the size I wanted, I had to use a hand saw (OUCH!) to cut it half. *budgets for reciprocating saw*

ImageI hate to leave you hanging…but that’s all I’ve done so far. LOL! My next step is to attach some legs, sand down the wood, paint or stain–I haven’t decided which yet, and create cushions for the top. Can’t wait to show you the final product!

Keep creating!

TMLG

2 comments on “Activating PALLET POWER!

  1. Colleen
    April 25, 2013

    This looks awesome Tracey! I’ve seen some pretty cool projects with pallets too. Just curious have you seen anything about how much weight these things can hold? Maybe I’m just paranoid but I feel like I’d sit down on one of those and snap, snap, snap.

    • tmlgwriter
      April 25, 2013

      Thanks, Colleen. I actually think it varies depending on the wood used in the pallet. So far the pallets that I’m using seem to be pretty sturdy but I am concerned about that also. To deal with this, I think I’m going to add some support to the underside of the bench via 2 x 4s etc. I’ll let you know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
