Restoration Avenue

Simple Restorations of the Home and Heart

It’s really not that deep (or doesn’t have to be)

Yes, it’s been a while. The thing about having several restoration projects working at once is that inevitably my other lives (wife, mother, editor, writer) will intervene. But I’m still very grateful that I get a chance to do this because it’s so cathartic for me. There’s something about being active and engaged in any restoration process that helps me to see how God transforms my own life over time. It births patience in me, I think.

So I must admit: I’m a dumpster diver! At least that’s what Hubby calls me. LOL! If we are driving around any residential area on trash day, I will probably end up screaming “slow down, slow down!” at some point so I can see if there are any cool finds. In fact that’s what happened about two years ago. We were on our way home and as we entered our neighborhood, I noticed that a neighbor had put out two wingback chairs in the trash. So of course, I tap hubby on the leg and scream “Stop! Stop the truck!”  We got out of the car and took a look at these beautiful chairs that appeared to have been the favorite hangout of both a cat and dog (Ew!). But despite Hubby’s skepticism, I saw something more. And as usual, we took them home and put them in the garage.

Also, as usual, it took me a while to get to them. In fact, I finally pulled them out two months ago after researching (Youtube-ing) various ways to re-upholster furniture at home.

Yeah, I couldn’t do it.

There’s value in knowing your limitations and one of mine is completely re-upholstering wing back chairs. LOL!

But I couldn’t give up, could I?

No.

See, sometimes restoration is not that complicated. You don’t have to go to carpentry school to bring something back to life. At least not always. In this case, the cushions on the chair were in fantastic shape and the bones were solid. What this chair needed was a deep clean to remove the dog hair. Here are the before pics:

photo-1
    photo

The chair also needed some patching of the fabric that had been scratched and torn by some manicure-loving cat. But then my thinking was, why patch when you can cover?! So very simply, after deep cleaning the chair (I started with one) with an industrial upholstery wet-vac (can be rented at any grocery or home improvement store), and stripping, sanding, and repainting those fantastic claw feet, I covered the chair with rich, cranberry-colored slip cover and adorned it with a pillow and throw cover. Here’s the final result:

photo-2

So, as I said, restoration is not that deep. At least not always. Be creative within the time frame you have and you can still work it out. Your thoughts?

Keep creating!
TMLG
One comment on “It’s really not that deep (or doesn’t have to be)

  1. Pingback: Nothing a can of spray paint can’t cure | Restoration Avenue

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
