Restoration Avenue

Simple Restorations of the Home and Heart

A Party on my Porch

So I’ve been meaning to update everyone on my pallet project but have been side-tracked this week with some fairly significant health issues. However, I did finish my bench a couple of weeks ago and here are the results:

As I said before, I started with a basic shipping pallet that you can get for free at any grocery, department store, or major company. I’m an editor at a publishing company that receives massive shipments of books and so I was fortunate to have access to plenty of pallets for my project.
photo

photo(3)

Using a saw, I cut the pallet in half and attached 4 x 4s as legs (16 inches). In hindsight, I’d probably go with 12 inch legs because the thick cushion I used for the top adds significant height.

0-4

After attaching the legs, I sanded the rough spots in the wood and painted the base white.

0-3

I then cut a piece of plywood to size and using a staple gun, attached foam, batting and then a “leather-like” white vinyl to the wood. The new cushion was attached to the base and VOILA…a great bench seat for my front porch. Now I have more room on my porch for a couple more friends to enjoy lemonade and the occasional evening summer breeze.

0-2 0-5

If I could do anything differently with this project, I probably would have gone with a little color (either on the cushion or a stain on the base)…the white on white makes the bench look like a massage table for my toddler. LOL! *shrug* That’s the beauty of re-purposing…you learn something new every time. Now that I know, I’ll likely do something similar, with tweaks for our back deck once I recover.

Keep creating!
TMLG

4 comments on “A Party on my Porch

  1. Aunt Mikki
    June 4, 2013

    Excellent darling….bring me home a pallet!… and you can still add another piece of fabric for color…even on the legs…great job!

    • tmlgwriter
      June 4, 2013

      Thanks, Mikki! I was actually thinking of doing some stenciling on the wood legs. Positive words like “relax” “rest yourself” etc….in some funky color. We’ll see.

  2. Sophia
    June 4, 2013

    I like it! I agree, little color–stenciling, would be good. Oh, and for additional softness, maybe a couple of colorful outdoor cushions.

    • tmlgwriter
      June 4, 2013

      I agree, Sophia. I’m looking for some really bright outdoor cushions to go with the yellow fluffy one I have on there now. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
