Restoration Avenue

Simple Restorations of the Home and Heart

Nothing a can of spray paint can’t cure

Sometimes restoration or repurposing is not about finding a big piece of furniture to strip, sand, and refinish or turning buckets into stools (although that’s a cool idea I’m thinking of trying). As I’ve said before, it’s not always that deep. Sometimes you just need a pop of color in your life. I know I do! In my DIY imagination, there’s not much a can of spray paint can’t cure. LOL!

Case in point: As a writer and editor who deeply cherishes her MacBook and iPad, I also have a great love for the original apparatuses of my field, i.e. good ole’ pen and paper and the typewriter. So I’ve recently decided I would start collecting old typewriters…not necessarily to use but as a reminder that there was a time when efficiency and convenience didn’t trump quality or process. My first piece is an old Smith Corona I found at a vintage shop on South Street (Philly). It used to be that dingy, sickly, hospital gray-green color until, of course, I attacked it with a can of red gloss spray paint and Voila! A super cool start to my collection.

photo

So how can you add some color to your favorite space? Could a hot pink dresser bring you joy? What about some bright, yellow pillows on your couch? Do it and let me know how it works out.

And of course, keep creating!!
TMLG
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
